Shaggy 2 dope - Musical Career

Real name: Joseph 'Joey' Utsler

Psychopathic Name: Shaggy 2 Dope

Nicknames: Shaggy 2 Dope, Full Clip, 2 Dope, Dopey, Shaggy Dope, Shaggy, Shaggs, Shag, Sweet Candy Nuts, Sugar Bear,Handsome Harley Gwestella, Gweedo, Gweedy, Stanky Twickle Puss, Stretchnuts, Galazto Inspector, Kangol Joe, Guy Gorfey, Ham'd Burglah, Gold D, Full Clip, Mr. Club, Southwest Strangla, Bazooka Joey, etc.


Early career (1989 – 1991)

In 1989, Joseph Utsler, as Kangol Joe, Joseph Bruce, as Jagged Joe, and John Utsler, as Master J, formed the group JJ Boys and released the single titled "Party at the Top of the Hill" under the name of JJ Boys, but the group did not pursue a serious career in music. The following year, the trio reemerged as Inner City Posse, using the stage names Violent J, 2 Dope, and John Kickjazz, and began performing at local night clubs. After releasing several albums, the group hired record store owner Alex Abbiss as their manager, who established the Psychopathic Records record label with the group in 1991. Later that year the group released the self-produced EP titled Dog Beats.

Insane Clown Posse (1991 – present)

In late 1991, Inner City Posse changed their style, look, and name. Joseph Bruce recalled a dream of a clown running around in Delray, which became the inspiration for the group's new name: Insane Clown Posse. Upon returning home that night, Bruce had a dream in which spirits in a traveling carnival appeared to him—an image that would become the basis for the Dark Carnival mythology detailed in the group's Joker's Cards series. These stories each offer a specific lesson designed to change the "evil ways" of listeners before "the end consumes us all." Insane Clown Posse has a dedicated following, often referred to by the group as Juggalos and Juggalettes.

John Utsler left the group in 1992, and Insane Clown Posse has since been composed of Joseph Bruce and Joseph Utsler, who perform under the respective personas of the murderous, wicked clowns Violent J and Shaggy 2 Dope. The duo perform a style of hardcore hip hop known as horrorcore, and is known for its dark, violent lyrics and elaborate live performances. Insane Clown Posse has earned two platinum and five gold albums. According to Nielsen SoundScan, the entire catalog of the group has sold 6.5 million units in the United States and Canada as of April 2007.

Solo career (1994 – present)

In 1994, Utsler released his first solo album, Fuck Off!, containing only four tracks. His second planned solo album Shaggs The Clown, was never released due to sampling issues. After almost 12 years of promotion, Utsler released his second solo album, F.T.F.O. (Fuck The Fuck Off!), in 2006. During ICP's 2013 GOTJ seminar Shaggy and J stated that they were wanting to do more solo albums. Shaggy said he was wanting to do another couple albums, (like Fuck Off! EP and F.T.F.O.). On July 24, 2015 during ICP's GOTJ seminar Shaggy said that he has been wanting to do another album, and plans on doing it, and will go on tour to support and promote the album shortly after it is released. In a flyer released in early/mid December 2015 it was announced that his upcoming album is titled F.T.F.O.M.F. (Fuck The Fuck Off Mother Fucker), set for a 2016 release date. In a early April 2016 faygoluvers interview with Violent J, J stated that Shaggy has been writing and recording his upcoming solo album with Otis/Young Wicked producing, and hasn't asked J for help.

Golden Goldies (1995)

Golden Goldies was a comical group whose lyrics focused solely on gold. The group consisted of Psychopathic Record's employees and friends; Violent J (Golden Jelly), Shaggy 2 Dope (Gold D), Robert Bruce (Golden Gram), Billy Bill (Gold Double B), Alex Abbiss (Gold Rocks), Mike E. Clark (Gold Digger), Rich Murrell (Golden Warrior), Frank G (Golden Frank), Keith (Gold Teeth), Josh (Rold Gold), Kelly Eubanks (Gold Spud), Fink the East Side G (Golden Toby), and Matt Mackalantie (Gold Spakalantie). Their only LP, Gimme Them Fuckin' Nuggets Bitch, Or I'll Punch Your Fuckin' Face, was recorded in 1995 in a span of one week, and was not publicly released. Golden Goldies was a project put together by Insane Clown Posse for entertainment purposes only. To add more humor to the album, each artist was given only five minutes to write their verses, and had only one take to record them, which resulted in some artists messing up their lines, and lyrics containing "some very strange things." The group held only one live performance, which occurred at the record release party for Insane Clown Posse's Riddle Box.

Dark Lotus (1998 – present)

Formed in 1998, Dark Lotus consists of Bruce and Utsler of Insane Clown Posse, Jamie Spaniolo and Paul Methric of Twiztid, and Blaze Ya Dead Homie. Each member is said to "act as a 'petal' of the lotus," and it was announced that there would be six members. After switching between two different "sixth members," Marz and Anybody Killa, Dark Lotus decided to keep the group to only five.

Psychopathic Rydas (1999 – present)

Psychopathic Rydas formed in 1999, and consists of Psychopathic Records-associated rappers performing under alternate stage names in the style of mainstream gangsta rap. The group's current lineup consists of Bruce (Bullet), Utsler (Full Clip), Methric (Foe Foe), Spaniolo (Lil' Shank), Rouleau (Cell Block) and David Hutto (Yung Dirt).

Psychopathic Rydas reuses the beats of popular rappers within the genre without paying to license the original songs or requesting permission from copyright owners to use the music, effectively making their albums bootlegs and resulting in the releases becoming difficult to find in some markets.

Soopa Villainz (2002 – 2005)

Formed in 2002, Soopa Villainz consisted of Lavel (Mr. Heart), Bruce (Mr. Diamond), Esham (Mr. Spade) and Utsler (Mr. Club). The group made appearances on Insane Clown Posse's The Wraith: Shangri-La and Esham's Acid Rain and Repentance before releasing their debut album, Furious, in 2005. Following Esham and Lavel's departure from Psychopathic Records in October 2005, the group disbanded.

The Killjoy Club (2013 - present)

The Killjoy Club is a supergroup on Psychopathic Records composed of Insane Clown Posse, Da Mafia 6ix, and young wicked of Axe Murder Boyz formed in 2013. They released their debut album Reindeer Games on September 2, 2014. Otis performs on some of The Killjoy Club's songs, making him an unofficial member.
Back to top

* Created by *