The Shining

Release: April 28, 2009

Label: Psychopathic Records (PSY4101)

Produced by: Mike E. Clark


General info:

This is Violent J's second studio album after the Wizard of the Hood. This album was originally giving away for free at the seminar at The Gathering 2008. After that, Violent J decided to make it a full studio album and it was released on his birthday april 28th 2009. The album contained 7 brand new tracks and it was revamped, remixed and digitally remastered.

The Shining does not focus on a single concept or storyline, but instead focuses on multiple stories, themes, and subjects. The title of the album refers to charisma and confidence. Bruce attempted to provide a variance for listeners by performing with different rapping styles on each track. Mike E. Clark produced the majority of the album, with Eric Davie providing additional production work. "Fight Club" features guest appearances by Esham and Necro. "Home Invasion" features an appearance by Shaggy 2 Dope. "Candyland" was developed during long late night recording sessions with Esham.


Tracklist: (click on the track for the lyrics)

01. Intro 2:00
02. Wake Up 3:50
03. Fight Club (Feat. Esham And Necro) 3:27
04. When I Rap 2:05
05. Candy Land (Feat. Esham) 4:00
06. Get Out The Way 3:03
07. 14 Year Old 4:02
08. I Get Mad 3:31
09. Faster 4:22
10. Jealousy 3:25
11. Home Invasion (Feat. Shaggy 2 Dope) 4:02
12. 4 The Hoes 2:49
13. Pyromaniac 3:37
14. Let It Go 3:16
15. ??? 5:16

* Created by *